Mavis Gallant’s “Voices Lost in Snow” (1976)


You might remember that, back when we met Linnet Muir, four stories ago, she explained her particular kind of aloneness. unsplash-logoCris DiNoto This story travels back in time further than the previous three and creates a deeper understanding of her state of being. Even in childhood, Linnet was alone. Even

Mavis Gallant’s “Voices Lost in Snow” (1976)2019-04-09T12:16:49-05:00

Khanh Ha’s Mrs. Rossi’s Dream (2019)


Khanh Ha’s third novel, Mrs. Rossi’s Dream (The Permanent Press, 2019) is an ideal companion to Flesh (2012) and The Demon Who Peddled Longing (2014). The reader’s guide is Lê Giang: the story begins and ends with him, in 1987, when he is living in a coastal town in the

Khanh Ha’s Mrs. Rossi’s Dream (2019)2019-06-03T12:08:56-05:00

Mavis Gallant’s “In Youth Is Pleasure” (1975)


What we know, from the beginning, is that Linnet Muir is alone. "My father died, then my grandmother; my mother was left, but we did not get on." She concedes her role in this situation. She was probably disagreeable. "I was probably disagreeable with anyone who felt entitled to give

Mavis Gallant’s “In Youth Is Pleasure” (1975)2019-03-26T11:31:18-05:00

Mavis Gallant’s “Up North” (1959)


In “Saturday”, the mother had dreamed a different kind of life for her daughters. In “Up North”, Dennis’ mother is dreaming of a different kind of life for herself. She’s on a train, north of Montreal, heading for Abitibi, Quebec. That’s where Dennis’ father is working in the bush.

Mavis Gallant’s “Up North” (1959)2019-02-25T17:36:56-05:00

Mavis Gallant’s “Saturday”


The image of the father in this story, unable to sleep, counting his sons-in-law instead of sheep, makes me smile. The way that he matches his memory of their faces with the litany of names, his uncertainty about the fifth, his debates over which of them is married to

Mavis Gallant’s “Saturday”2019-02-23T19:39:07-05:00